Ruby Red Slippers

Me and my friends Meg, Bella, and Emma were walking to school from our bus stop. We were all talking about the school play we’re doing. The wizard of oz! 

“Oh my gosh. I am so scared to see the cast list. Like what if I don’t get Dorothy” said Emma. 

“Your kidding right?” asked Meg “ You always get the lead in every play.” We all auditioned for the school play the wizard of oz. Emma the biggest theater kid in the school, auditioned for Dorothy, the lead. 

Emma’s always the lead in all the plays she’s been in since pre-k when she starred in the five-minute play of the boy who cried wolf.  A boy named Andrew was going to be the lead and Emma was going to be a sheep. But Emma threw a fit and cried until she was the boy who cried wolf, and Andrew was a sheep. Me and Meg were townspeople in that play and we didn’t meet Bella until next year. 

 

“Yeah. I’m never to. My audition didn’t go too well.”  said Bella, who auditioned for the lion. 

“Hey, it might be a good thing.” I said, “ it shows you and the cowardly lion are very alike.” 

“I don’t know,” Bella said all shy. Bella has stage fright. And so during Bella’s audition, she got all frozen and couldn’t say the rest of her lines in that scene. And as soon as Ms.Bloom the theater teacher said 

 

“Next please.” Bella came bolting down from the stage and stuffed her face in my shoulder. Bella is the shyest and quietest girl that I’ve ever met. And when we first met on the first day of kindergarten she was getting bullied because she had a monster truck lunchbox. And some boys were giving her a hard time because of it. So I stepped in and said 

 

“There’s no such thing as boy stuff and girl stuff. Ok. and I saw Collins playing with the ponies this morning in the corner. And that’s ok.”  Then Collin and his friends walked away to play with the ponies in the corner.   And Bella, Collins, and I still play ponies together sometimes when no one is looking. 

 

“How are you feeling Meg?” asked Emma 

“Good I guess. I just can’t get the wicked witches cackle.” Meg said sadly 

“And I can’t be the wicked witch of the west without her cackle,” Meg said and then she tried to cackle. It wasn’t too good. Meg auditioned for the wicked witch of the west. She wanted to audition for Dorothy because Meg loves to sing. And she’s really good. We all want her to try to go on America’s Got talent.  Anyway, Meg didn’t audition for Dorothy because she knew that Emma would be in the audience, and Emma is very competitive. She plays five different sports. And Meg did not want to make Emma angry.

 

“Sydney, why did you audition for the lead flying monkey?” asked Bella. 

“Because I love monkeys. And I will get to jump around on stage and be on my knees sometimes.” I said, “and maybe they will come up with a cool way for me to fly.” 

“Lucky,” said Meg and Emma at the same time. 

“Jinx, blackout lockout you can’t talk until I say your name,” said Meg ho is almost as competitive as Emma. 

 

We walk to school talking and listening to Emma’s whining. When all of a sudden Emma starts jumping up and down pointing at something.

“What is it Emma,” said Meg 

“LOOK LOOK RUBY RED SLIPPERS LIKE DOROTHYS!!!!!!!!!!!!”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *